WordPress Plugins for SEO & General Optimisation

WordPress is an extremely powerful content management system and is now utilised by a wide range of organisations across the world.

The current stats from BuiltWith indicate that 51% of the entire web now uses WordPress:

BuildWith CMS Usage Stats

Source: http://trends.builtwith.com/cms

Some of the main reasons for using WordPress are:

  • Cost = it’s free!
  • It’s open source with a wide community of developers
  • It’s easy to set-up and very easy to use
  • It’s capable of varying media types (images, music, video etc)
  • It caters for a variety of uses (blogging, information/service led, ecommerce etc)
  • It’s safe and secure, updated regularly though the community
  • and it’s extendable via themes and plugins

The last item on this list is one of the key reasons behind WordPress’s success. The “vanilia” WordPress install , which is traditionally a bloging platform, can be transformed for a variety of uses due to the vast number of plugins available to achieve a variety of tasks. Plugins can achieve pretty much anything from bespoke title and meta implementation to ecommerce functionality, making WordPress an extremely popular choice for individuals, SMEs and global organisations.

Extending WordPress Through Plugins

Through the use of plugins it’s possible to enhance the search engine compliance of a website through a variety of measures, so I thought I would take this opportunity to list a few of the plugins which I use on a regular basis when enhancing WordPress systems for SEO purposes.

With this in mind here’s a quick breakdown of some of the free plugins which you can utilise.

Titles, Meta Data & Indexation

Yoast SEO – https://yoast.com/wordpress/plugins/seo/

URL Handling

Eggplant 301 Redirects – https://en-gb.wordpress.org/plugins/eps-301-redirects/

Redirection – https://en-gb.wordpress.org/plugins/redirection/

Quick Page/Post Redirect Plugin – https://wordpress.org/plugins/quick-pagepost-redirect-plugin/

Spam Reduction

Akismet – https://wordpress.org/plugins/akismet/

Contact Forms

Contact Form 7 – https://en-gb.wordpress.org/plugins/contact-form-7/

Gravity Forms – http://www.gravityforms.com/

Google Analytics Integration

Google Analytics for WordPress – https://wordpress.org/plugins/google-analytics-for-wordpress/

WooCommerce Google Analytics Integration – https://en-gb.wordpress.org/plugins/woocommerce-google-analytics-integration/

Speed

EWWW Image Optimizer – https://wordpress.org/plugins/ewww-image-optimizer/

W3 Total Cache – https://wordpress.org/plugins/w3-total-cache/

WP Clean UP – https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-clean-up-optimizer/

That’s all for now but I will try to keep the list updated as I discover new plugins to utilise. If you have any suggestions/additions please let me know.

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *